Thursday, December 30, 2010
Knowledge that minimum wage laws of Michigan
This minimum wage laws were launched in 1938, claim followers United States to improve the standard of living to increase production and according to Government help to reduce programs. After the u.s. Department of labor have Michigan minimum wage laws in recent years changed. Follow these steps to find updated information about the minimum wage laws and stay current with the state's mandated regulations.Difficulty: EasyInstructions1Be aware that the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), the federal legislation that governs the payment of overtime wages, equal pay regulations and child-labor protection laws, has a bearing on minimum wage laws in Michigan under certain circumstances.2Apply the FLSA exemption from the minimum wage laws in Michigan if fewer than two employees work at the use ' s site, if the employee works at a summer camp for less than 4 months or if employment involves fruit picking.3Know that as of October 2006, minimum wage laws in Michigan apply to employees who provide domestic child care or companionship services (unless they are under the age of 18), have live in status or regularly work fewer than 20 hours per week.4Expect the minimum wage in Michigan to increase from $6.95 per hour to $7.15 as of July 1, 2007, with another increase to $7.40 per hour effective July 1, 2008. 5Find out if your occupation is considered exempt from the minimum wage laws under the Fair Labor Standards Act (see resources below). 6File a grievance with your state' wage and hour Division Office if you believe your rights under FLSA have been violated (see resources below).